This Summer School and Workshop was held in Conference Room 212, Building D, Institute of Physics of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, during August 8-20, 2016. Altogether there were about 80 participants from China, Europe, Japan, Korea, and United States.
We thank all the lecturers and senior and junior participants. Their hardworking and devotedness have made the school a great success (at least apparently). We wish the book based on the lecture notes of this school will have a last impact to the Chinese Statistical physics community.

In recent years, the fast development of advanced experimental methods makes it possible to follow the trajectories of single small particles, the structural transitions in single proteins, the collective movement of swarms of bacteria, etc.. Statistical physicists in the last years devoted a lot of efforts on understanding the collective behavior of small systems and active-matter systems.

Physics of nano-sized systems, especially those composed of particles which can convert chemical energy into directed motion (active particles), has become popular research topic for Chinese graduate students of physics. As nonequilibrium statistical physics is not an emphasize for students in their undergraduate training, the aims of this summer school are: (1) to give a concise review on the fundamentals of equilibrium and nonequilibrium statistical physics; (2) to give a focused introduction on several latest theoretical developments on nonequilibrium statistical physics; (3) to discuss some of the key questions on and key physical mechanisms behind the various collective behaviors of active-matter systems.

This summer school will last for two weeks. There will be a two-day international workshop at the middle of this summer school. The whole event is mainly sponsered by a special grant from the National Natural Science Foundation of China (grant number: 11547609).

A version of the webpage in Chinese can be found at science net.

  • Gareth Alexander (Department of Physics, University of Warwick, UK)

  • Youjin Deng (Depart Modern Physics, Univ. of Science and Technology of China)

  • Eva Kanso (Depart. Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering, Univ. Southern California)

  • Thomas Nattermann (Institute of Theoretical Physics, University of Cologne)

  • Hyunggyu Park (School of Physics, Korea Institute for Advanced Study, Korea)

  • Xiaqing Shi (Center for Soft Condensed Matter Physics and Interdisciplinary Research, Soochow University)

  • Kazumasa Takeuchi (Department of Physics, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan)

  • Leihan Tang (Beijing Computational Science Research Center, China)

  • Yuhai Tu (Thomas J. Watson Research Center, IBM Research, USA)

  • Mingcheng Yang (Institute of Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences)

  • Julia Yeomans (Rudolf Peierls Centre for Theoretical Physics, University of Oxford, UK)

  • Hepeng Zhang (Institute of Natural Sciences, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China)

  • Hai-Jun Zhou (Institute of Theoretical Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China)

This school is mainly for graduate students and postdocs who are entering the fields of non-equilibrium physics and active-matter physics. We aim at enrolling about 40 participants from China and up to 15 international students and postdocs.

The summer school will arrange for accommodation for all domestic and international students and postdocs (costs covered by the school). Local living cost will also be fully supported by the school. We encourage participants to get travel support from their own institutions. However, upon explicit request from applicants and conditonal on the budget situation, we may offer travel support for a limited number of domestic participants.

To apply for the school, please send your application to Hai-Jun Zhou by email ( The application document should be a PDF document containing (a) your CV, (b) the relationship between your research field and the summer school, (c) the recommendation or consent from your supervisor, and (d) other comments, e.g., travel support request or suggested tentative title of presentation at the shcool/workshop.

Deadline of application: June 01, 2016. Earlier applications will be considered earlier and acceptance will be notified as soon as possible (especially to overseas participants) but no later than June 20, 2016.

  • Leihan Tang (Beijing Computational Science Research Center, China)

  • Julia Yeomans (Rudolf Peierls Centre for Theoretical Physics, University of Oxford, UK)

  • Fangfu Ye (Institute of Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China)

  • Hai-Jun Zhou (Institute of Theoretical Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China)

We acknowledge financial and other supports from